Lost Shoreline

In the old city roads, have you heard the sound of the sea?

The Lost Shoreline…

There is a long lost shoreline in Yau Ma Tei, which has borne witness to the history of the city. We reclaimed the sea in pursuit of development. Time passed, and the once vibrant port is now facing redevelopment. While terms like ‘demolition,’ ‘preservation,’ ‘reconstruction’ and ‘activation’ are mentioned, the shoreline has been pushed ever forward. Under the current of development, who is being left behind? Urban renewal, it is not always just the shoreline which is being lost…

An unprecedented theatre experience

To promote the renewal plan for the old Yau Ma Tei district, a consultant firm has been commissioned to create an app called HK5D, to let the stakeholders understand the 5D development plan through an on site audio guide.

This app is an original creation which breaks the linear rules of an audio guided tour. Participants can freely choose their walk according to the map and annotations on the map in the app. They will also have to explore the physical space to search for information needed. The app will also notify them of different live events, allowing the participants to choose their own programme to join, leading to a self-constructed theatre experience. In this programme, your phone will lead you to submerge in the lost ocean, people and events from history, to experience the gains and losses of city development.

Tickets

Contact us for tickets

  • Audience members should bring their own smartphone (iOS 8.0 or above / Android 4.0 or above) and headphones. Please make sure your phone is sufficiently charged.
  • The programme will require cellphone data; please make sure your phone has mobile internet and sufficient data.
  • The programme is around 2 hours, the audience will need to be able to stand and walk.
  • Because of the need to walk alone in the street, this program is only suitable for audience aged 18 or over.
  • Since participants must walk alone in the streets, the performance is only suitable for those of at least 18 years old.
  • Tickets booked in advance are non-refundable.
  • Please arrive on time, latecomers will not be admitted.
  • All rights reserved by Rooftop Productions Ltd.

Buy tickets online

  • Saturday, 22 April 2017 19:45
  • Sunday, 23 April 2017 19:45
  • Tuesday, 25 April 2017 19:45
  • Wednesday, 26 April 2017 19:45
  • Thursday, 27 April 2017 19:45
  • Friday, 28 April 2017 19:45
  • Saturday, 29 April 2017 19:45
  • Sunday, 30 April 2017 19:45
  • Monday, 1 May 2017 19:45
  • Tuesday, 2 May 2017 19:45
Yau Ma Tei, Outside Kubrick

H2, Prosperous Garden, 3 Public Square Street, Yau Ma Tei

Loading map...

Creative Team

App

Artistic Directors' Note

“The narrative function is losing its functors, its great hero, its great dangers, its great voyages, its great goal. It is being dispersed in clouds of narrative language[...] Where, after the metanarratives, can legitimacy reside?” - Lyotard, The Postmodern Condition

We have constructed the world of Lost Shoreline from petits récits; localized rather than grand narratives.  Taking such a poststructuralist approach to theatre doesn’t mean that we have to reject the use of text or stories, but rather that the theatrical form itself must adapt to hold a multiplicity of meaning.  The stories become separate pieces of a puzzle, which cannot individually explain everything, 

It is difficult to define the show in terms of genre, and it would be a bit pretentious to make up a new genre name for our own work.  It’s inspired by ideas from site-specific theatre, auto-theatre, immersive theatre, promenade theatre, and various artists of walking interventions that are not even necessarily ‘theatre’ in an easily recognisable sense.  There are some important precedents for elements of the piece; Punchdrunk, with a free audience following performers in a defined space; Rimini Protokol who use technology to address the audience directly via headphones, while placing them in the real world.  At the same time, we are trying to create something entirely new, which doesn’t conform to conventional expectations of drama, or the roles of audience and performer.  

The performer in this piece is more like a photographer: someone who frames reality and guides the eye of the viewer to see the world from a new perspective.  Their story is not only about them, but a lens through which to see ourselves in the context of this place and its history.  

The app gives the audience control over how they experience the show, and the act of walking in the city becomes a process of choice.  It might be impossible for one person to experience every part of the show and construct the whole picture on their own, but perhaps by communicating our different experiences of the world to one another, we can arrive at a shared understanding of it.  The experience is not intended to be one-way communication from artist to audience, but to create a dialogue between different people and with the world around them. 

Finally, we would like to thank our team and friends for their efforts, hard work and patience; it is a privilege to have their help and willingness to try new things with us.  We would also like to thank other organisations, especially Kubrick and Yes Inn, for their understanding and support for us in our pursuit of making art in unconventional spaces.  This show is just a starting point for this app and this form, and Rooftop will keep on striving to explore the possibilities they open up.

《消失的海岸线》

在旧城的街道中,你有听过海吗?

消失的海岸线…

油麻地区内有一条消失已久的海岸线,它见证了我城的历史。为求发展,当初我们将海填平;时日变迁,盛极一时的繁华之地,现正面临重新规划及发展。清拆,保育,重建,活化这些词语不断被提起,海岸线不断被向前推。在发展的洪流下,谁又被遗留?城市发展,消失的又岂止海岸线…

前所未见的剧场体验

为推广油麻地旧区的发展计划,顾问公司受委托研发手机应用程式「五维港」,让各位持份者可透过实地的声音导览,更清晰了解该区的五维发展蓝图。

是次应用程式为独家首创,打破一贯以线性进行的声音导览行程。参加者可根据程式内的地图及标示,自由选择聆听地点,实地探索及寻找所需资料。另外,应用程式亦会定时提示不同的现场演出,让参加者自由选择参与的项目,感受自主性极高的剧场体验。是次节目中,你的手机将带领你潜入已消失的海洋,以及历史中的人和事 ,体验城市发展的得与失。

门票

直接与我们联络购票

  • 粵語演出。
  • 參加者需攜帶有足夠電量的智能手機一部(需支援iOS 8.0或以上 /Android 4.0或以上)及耳筒一對。
  • 本節目需使用手機流動數據,參加者需確定手機備有流動上網服務及足夠數據。
  • 節目長約2小時,參加者需於進行期間站立及走動。
  • 因部分題材敏感及需於街道上獨自走動,本節目適合十八歲或以上人士參與。
  • 門票一經確認後不可退票。
  • 敬請準時到達,遲到者不得參與。
  • 天台製作擁有更改節目、場次的最終決定權

网上购票

  • 2017年4月22日星期六晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月23日星期日晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月25日星期二晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月26日星期三晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月27日星期四晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月28日星期五晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月29日星期六晚上7点45分
  • 2017年4月30日星期日晚上7点45分
  • 2017年5月1日星期一晚上7点45分
  • 2017年5月2日星期二晚上7点45分
油麻地Kubrick門外

油麻地眾坊街3號駿發花園H2地舖

Loading map...

创作团队

应用程式

艺术总监的话(中文译版)

「叙事功能已经失去其功效,因为能够产生原动力的伟大英雄,巨大灾难,伟大航行和崇高目标都已烟消云散。叙事功能消散于叙述性语言元素所形成的迷雾之中[...]不过,在元叙事(metanarratives) 之后,合法性可能存留于什么地方呢?」 -Lyotard《后现代状况》

我们运用「小叙事」(petits récits)建构了《消失的海岸线》的世界;使用地方的小故事,而非宏大式叙事。在剧场中,运用后结构主义的方法并不代表我们要拒绝使用文字或故事;而是剧场模式的本身能够适应,以致令它可以装载多重的意义。这些小故事变成一块块的拼图,而每一块拼图自身并不能够解释一切。

我们很难去定义这次作品的剧场类型,而为自己作品去定立一个新的类型名称亦有点矫揉造作。这次作品的构成及元素,灵感来自环境剧场、自动剧场、潜入式剧场、漫步剧场,以及一众创作以行动对空间作出干预的艺术家-他们的作品甚至不轻易被识别为「剧场」。其他更重要,影响此作品的创作元素,包括Punchdrunk-在既定的空间中,让观众自由走动/跟着演员走动;Rimini Protokol-应用科技,透过耳筒与观众直接沟通,同时地把他们放在真实世界。被影响的同时,我们亦作全新的尝试,不顺从对常规话剧的期望,又或传统的观众/表演者的角色及关系。

《消失的海岸线》中的表演者,比较像一个摄影师:为现实投下框架,及带领观赏者的眼睛,以新的视点看现实。他们的故事不只是关于他们,而是一个镜头;透过它,我们看见自身处于这个地方和地方的历史。

透过手机应用程式,我们让观众控制他们的演出体验;而在城市中行走的举动,亦构成为选择。这是不可能由自己一人,去经历每一个部份,又或由自己一人建构出整个故事;但或许透过沟通,向其他人分享不同的经历,我们可以对整件事,达致一个集体的理解。这个经历并不只是创作者与观众的单向沟通,而是不同的人或世界之间,创造对话。

最后,感谢我们的团队和朋友,他们对这个作品的付出,努力和忍耐,有大家帮忙,并和我们一起尝试,是非常幸运的事;还有各界的协助,特别是Kubrick和Yes Inn,对艺术创作的包容和支持。今次的作品是这个应用程式/剧场模式的开端,我们会继续尝试,及探索它的发展空间。